NEW PMBC Would Like Your Ideas and Feedback
If you would like to contribute to the 2022 strategic planning session for PMBC, please respond by July 15th. Take the online survey by visiting surveymonkey.com/r/PMBC_2022_External_Stakeholder_Survey or scanning the QR code below:
Prescribing Laws Take Effect January 1, 2022
The Podiatric Medical Board of California is reminding prescribers of the upcoming e-prescribing requirements established by Assembly Bill (AB) 2789 (Wood, 2018).
Beginning January 1, 2022, most prescriptions issued by a licensed healthcare practitioner to a California pharmacy must be submitted electronically. This includes prescriptions issued by out-of-state healthcare practitioners to be filled in a California pharmacy.
Healthcare practitioners who fail to meet the requirements of AB 2789, may be subject to disciplinary action. The law provides certain exemptions, including if transmission of the prescription is temporarily unavailable because of technological or electrical failure; if the prescription is dispensed by a pharmacy located outside California; or if the prescription is issued to a patient who has a terminal illness pursuant to Section 11159.2 of the Health and Safety Code. The complete list of exemptions is included within Business and Professions Code section 688.
In addition to the electronic transmission requirements for all prescriptions, there are additional new requirements for controlled substance prescriptions. Under this law, a healthcare practitioner who does not issue a controlled substance prescription as an electronic data transmission prescription due to technological or electrical failure shall document the reason in the patient's medical record as soon as practicable, and within 72 hours of the end of the technological or electrical failure.
Although most prescriptions will be issued electronically, the Board recommends that all licensed prescribers have paper prescription forms available that meet the requirements of AB 149 should a technological or electrical failure prevent a prescription from being issued electronically. A list of the approved security prescription printers is available on the State Attorney General's website.
Please note the Board is unable to recommend or suggest what products or services will comply with the law.
Prescribing Laws Take Effect January 1, 2022
Licensees of the Podiatric Medical Board of California with prescribing authority are subject to the e-prescribing requirements established by Assembly Bill (AB) 2789 (Wood, 2018). Beginning January 1, 2022, most prescriptions (including but not limited to prescriptions for controlled substances) issued by a licensed healthcare practitioner to a California pharmacy must be submitted electronically. For more information on this law and its requirements, please see the AB 2789 bulletin. Practitioners also can get answers to questions about complying with the law at Electronic Data Transmission Prescriptions (E-Prescriptions) – Frequently Asked Questions provided by the California State Board of Pharmacy.
DCA Waiver DCA-21-194 Order Waiving License Renewal Requirements
DCA Waiver DCA-21-175 Order Waiving License Renewal Requirements
COVID-19 Vaccine Eligibility Expands Statewide in April
NOTICE: CURES FEE INCREASE – April 1, 2021
As part of California's effort to address the growing danger of opioid addiction stemming from prescription drug abuse, the CURES fee will increase from $6 to $11 annually for a period of 2 years effective April 1. For more information, visit: https://oag.ca.gov/cures
Doctors of Podiatric Medicine are Authorized to Administer Covid-19 Vaccines
See link below:
DCA Waiver DCA-21-115 Order Waiving Restrictions on Doctors of Podiatric Medicine Relating to Ordering and Administering COVID-19 Vaccines
Licensure for Refugees, Asylees, and Holders of Special Immigrant Visas
Notice: Fee Increase for Licensed DPMs
The Podiatric Medical Board of California (PMBC) is the licensing and enforcement agency that regulates Doctors of Podiatric Medicine (DPM) in the State of California. PMBC has approximately 2400 licensees and has not raised renewal fees since 2004. A fee study was conducted and it was determined that the biennial renewal fee for DPMs needed to cover the costs of operation and allow PMBC to cover the costs of maintaining the required reserve funds. The fee study indicated that the biennial renewal fee needed to be increased to $1318. This increase will bring fees in line with actual costs. The effective date of this increase is January 1, 2021.
Prescription Changes in 2021!
California Governor Gavin Newsom has authorized new tax relief and grants to businesses impacted by COVID-19 restrictions. The Podiatric Medical Board of California is encouraging licensees to determine their eligibility for relief, which includes Tax Relief for Businesses Impacted by COVID-19, $500 Million for New COVID Relief Grant for Small Business, and Increase Funding for the California Rebuilding Fund. For more information, read Governor Newsom's news release or visit the Business and Employers section of the state's COVID19.ca.gov website.
Prescribing and Reporting Rules for Controlled Substances Effective January 1, 2021.
Are Your Prescription Forms Compliant?
Starting January 1, 2021, new laws will impact licensees who prescribe and/or furnish controlled substances.
- Updated Prescription Pad Security Requirements - starting January 1, 2021, California state law requires 15 security elements, including a 12-character serial number and corresponding barcode, to appear on California Security Prescription Forms. State law also requires California Security Prescription Forms to be produced by printers approved by the California Department of Justice's California Security Prescription Printers Program. For more information, please refer to the AB 149 Joint Statement.
- Revised Reporting Requirements for Controlled Substances – starting January 1, 2021, the dispensing of a controlled substance must be reported to the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) within one working day after the medication is released to the patient or the patient's representative. Previously, the deadline to report was seven days after dispensing. Further, this law requires reporting of Schedule V drugs, in addition to Schedules II, III, and IV. This requirement applies to pharmacists and prescribers who dispense controlled substances.
Updated COVID-19 Testing Guidance
Order Waiving License Renewal Requirements
Order Waiving License Reactivation or Restoration Requirement
DCA Waivers - More Information
Guidance Relating to Non-Discrimination in Medical Treatment for Novel Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19)
NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC RE: PODIATRIC MEDICAL DOCTORS WHO HAVE RECEIVED A PROBATIONARY ORDER
SB 1448 mandates that on and after July 1, 2019, the Podiatric Medical Board of California requires a licensee to provide a separate disclosure to a patient or a patient's guardian or health care surrogate before the patient's first visit if the licensee is on probation pursuant to a probationary order made on and after July 1, 2019. The bill would also require the Podiatric Medical Board of California to provide specified information relating to licensees on this website.
To protect and educate consumers of California through licensing, enforcement, and regulation of Doctors of
The Podiatric Medical Board of California (Board) strives to provide effective licensing and enforcement of podiatric physicians as a means
to protect the public from any unfit and incompetent doctors practicing
in this specialty field.
Through the years, these efforts have been greatly assisted by a number
of unique initiatives advanced and adopted by the Board that have sought
not simply to maintain entry-level standards for podiatric physicians, but
also to elevate professional competency standards, reduce medical error,
and prevent patient harm.
All California-licensed podiatric physicians will provide safe and competent foot and ankle care.
Department of Consumer Affairs
1st Floor - Hearing Room
2005 Evergreen St.
Sacramento, CA 95815